Bed & Book #1: Gone With the Wind

I love books and I love bed so I’ve decided to do Bed & Book blog posts. I think everyone has a favorite reading spot mine is my bed. Let’s be honest my bed is my favorite anything spot. Except for the hanky panky there’s none of that going on here. I would like to explain that the following is my interpretation and understanding of the story and the topics and themes I personally wanted to discuss. This is not an in depth educational analysis or literary criticism of the whole novel. It’s just for fun. Simply how the story made me as an individual feel. Literature is art obviously and open to an infinite amount of interpretations.

I recently read the mammoth of a novel that is Gone With the Wind by Margaret Mitchell. This story is epic there’s humor, tragedy, and suspense. Everyone knows the movie it’s iconic. I loved the film and was genuinely very excited about reading the novel. I first saw the film in the eighth grade in class and Vivienne Leigh’s Scarlett was a revelation for me. It took me ten years before I decided to read the book. I would talk about the movie and how it’s one of my favorites if not my favorite film and people couldn’t understand why maybe I didn’t understand why at the time either.

Until I got older and read the book then I knew why. Scarlett is everything we love about the anti-hero she’s not very likable to most people but she is someone to be admired. Her ability to not only survive but then thrive is unlike any other. No she’s not sweet and gentle but like she says that’s what Melley is for. Some people may feel as though she is manipulative and that she uses people but they use her just as much she just has the upper hand. One thing I never got from the film was just how smart she is how logical and pragmatic her mind works that very same aspect of her personality that helps her succeed in business is what makes it hard for her to be accepted socially. I also loved that she was aware of the fact that she wouldn’t be well liked and that was just fine so long as she wasn’t poor and hungry. Scarlett was forced to carry heavy burdens she never wanted or expected. She grew up very quickly and she grew into herself. Sure she made plenty of selfish mistakes just like most young women. Her choices caused her to lose friendships, love, and even happiness. That’s so much like real life. The moments when Scarlett makes us cringe with the thing she does. I can think of a few things I’ve done in the past that make me cringe looking back.

I knew how this story would end before even reading it. What I didn’t realize was how it would make me feel. For many people they choose to believe that Scarlett’s demise is when Rhett leaves her and says “I don’t give a damn” and that’s the end of her for them. But to say that is to give Rhett the power to control this woman and I’m not sure that would be Margaret Mitchell’s intention. I believe it’s not over til it’s over and Mitchell after cultivating Scarlett so much and presenting her as someone who would never sit back and let something she wants go, would never let Rhett have the last word. He couldn’t and shouldn’t be the one to mark the end. No the last word or words should and do in fact belong to Scarlett. I think the the final sentence “…tomorrow is another day” is Scarlett’s biggest triumph.

Leave a Reply

